Who is the Emerging Player of IPL?

Rohit Sharma World Cup

The Indian Premier League takes place during the summer, between March and May every year. Every year, the league witnesses numerous amounts of incredible talent amongst young players. The award, the “Emerging Player of IPL” is given to young players who have excelled and performed excellently throughout the competition, recognizing these young talents on the pitch. Over the years, many fans have wondered who was the emerging player of the season of IPL? Many have been considered IPL emerging players with the help of their hard work in in the league.

In this article, we will delve back in time to the birth of the IPL in the year 2008. We will take a look at who is the emerging player of IPL from 2008. Before we look at who is the Emerging Player of IPL list of each year, we first need to know the criteria that a player needs to be eligible to compete for this coveted tag.

Emerging Player of IPL 2024 criteria

The IPL 2024 Emerging Player criteria involves a solid performance in the game, along with other factors that they must meet.

These criteria are as below:

  • The player must be born after the 1st of April 1996.
  • The player must not have played more than 25 matches in the Indian Premier League at the start of an IPL season.
  • The player must not have played more than 20 ODIs and 5 test matches.
  • The player in contention should not have won the award in previous years.

According to rules and regulation of the league, it is a must for contended players to meet these criteria to be among the Emerging Players of IPL 2024.

IPL Emerging Player of IPL 2024-2008 winners

In this section, we will be talking about the IPL Emerging Player 2024 in detail. Starting from IPL 2008 Emerging Player to the Emerging Player of IPL 2024, we discuss several players’ performances to place them on this list. Here are the IPL Emerging Player 2024-2008 winners:

IPL 2008: Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

During the U19 World Cup, the winning team’s player, Shreevats Goswami who played the role of a wicket keeper and a batsman was the first player to be declared as the IPL 2008 emerging player due to his excellency in the season. During the time, Goswami played for the RCB and landed a few excellent knocks. Goswami managed to score 82 runs in 4 matches during the season.

IPL 2009: Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)

Rohit Sharma, a young batman who showed remarkable skill in his art. He scored 362 runs in 16 matches for the Chargers. He received the “Emerging Player Award” that season and since then, his name was on the IPL emerging player list.

IPL 2010: Saurabh Tiwary (Mumbai Indians)

Recently retired, Tiwary was an important asset of the Mumbai Indians. The left-handed batter managed to hit three fifties that season and gained a place on the list amongst the IPL emerging players.

IPL 2011: Iqbal Abdulla (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Abdulla was one of the most valuable players in Gambhir’s first season.16 wickets was picked up by the left-arm spinner and led the KKR to their first playoffs. Hence earned his position among the emerging players of IPL.

IPL 2012: Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)

The Kings XI Punjab was a former name of the Punjab kings and Mandeep Singh was a key player of the team in 2012. He scored 432 runs during the league at an average of 27 runs. He was the highest scorer for Punjab during the tournament. He was considered as the emerging player in IPL in that season.

IPL 2013: Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

Sanju Samson won the emerging award title during his breakthrough at the Rajasthan Royals in the season. He scored 206 runs during that season. Samson was the team’s brightest spark that year though the Rajasthan Royals did not advance to the playoffs. Samson still managed to put his name on the IPL emerging player list.

IPL 2014: Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)

Patel was an excellent young talent that Punjab had seen from a 20-year-old. He picked up 17 wickets during the tournament, and his contributions led his team to the finals.

IPL 2015: Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Daredevils)

2015 is known to be Shreyas’ first year he was exposed to the league, his performance shook every spectator as the youth amassed 439 runs in 14 matches, and scored 4 half centuries in that season. He was also considered to be the 4th highest run-getter.

IPL 2016: Mustafizur Rahman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Rahman was a key performer for the Sunrisers. He picked up 17 wicket in the season and was awarded as the emerging player of 2016.

IPL 2017: Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)

Tampi picked 11 wickets while wearing Gujarat colors. However, the player failed to kick on from that season onwards.

IPL 2018: Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)

The emerging player in 2018 was given to Pant as he was the 2nd highest run scorer in the season with 684 runs for DC with a strike rate of 173.6. His excellent performance during that year earned him the title of the emerging player in 2018.

IPL 2019: Shubman Gilli (Kolkata Knight Riders)

The IPL emerging player 2019 was awarded to Gill for his outstanding performance in the league. Scoring 3 half centuries along with 296 runs in just 14 match gets him recognized as the emerging player in 2019.

IPL 2020: Devdutt Padikkal (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

The emerging player of IPL 2020 was awarded to Devdutt for the 473 run in which he scored in 15 matches including 5 fifties. Such performance gained him the title of the emerging player of 2020.

IPL 2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings)

Gaikwad performance in the game earned him the emerging player of IPL 2021 after scoring 635 runs for his team including 4 fifties during the season.

IPL 2022: Umran Malik (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

The emerging player of the league in 2022 was awarded to Umran Malik after picking up 22 wickets. His contributions for the team that season put him as the emerging player of IPL 2022.

IPL 2023: Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rajasthan Royals)

Jaiswal was crowned as IPL 2023 emerging player when the young batter scored 625 runs for the Rajasthan Royals including 5 fifties and a superb hundred. His incredible performance not only gained him the title but established himself in the Indian test team as well.

Complete List of Emerging Player of IPL Award Winners

Below is a list of all the IPL emerging players throughout the history of IPL.

Year Player’s Name Team
2008 Shreevats Goswami Royal Challengers Bangalore
2009 Rohit Sharma Deccan Chargers
2010 Saurabh Tiwary Mumbai Indians
2011 Iqbal Abdulla Kolkata Knight Riders
2012 Mandeep Singh Kings XI Punjab
2013 Sanju Samson Rajasthan Royals
2014 Axar Patel Kings XI Punjab
2015 Shreyas Iyer Delhi Daredevils
2016 Mustafizur Rahman Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Basil Thampi Gujarat Lions
2018 Rishabh Pant Delhi Capitals
2019 Shubman Gill Kolkata Knight Riders
2020 Devdutt Padikkal Royal Challengers Bangalore
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad Chennai Super Kings
2022 Umran Malik Sunrisers Hyderabad
2023 Yashasvi Jaiswal Rajasthan Royals

We would have to wait for the result of who is the Emerging Player of 2024 as the 2024 season would end on May 29, 2024.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *