Which Player Has Most Centuries in T20 World Cup?

The T20 World Cup has featured some of the most dangerous batting performances, including the most centuries in T20 World Cup. Several batsmen have smashed centuries to take their respective teams to a win. With the T20 World Cup right around the corner, cricket fans can expect some explosive performances in this edition of the tournament. Players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, David Warner, and Quinton de Kock are expected to deliver some mind blasting performances and add their names to the list of players with the most centuries in T20 World Cup.

This article lists players who have scored the most centuries in the T20 World Cup. We also look at batters who have set certain records in this format.

Most Centuries in T20 World Cup

Chris Gayle has hit the most centuries in T20 World Cup matches. The left handed batter from West Indies has already scored two centuries in the tournament’s history. He got his first ton in the first 2007 T20 World Cup against South Africa, while his second came in 2016 against England. In that match, he destroyed England’s bowling attack.

Chris Gayle was one of the most dangerous batters in the shortest format of the game. However, other players like Rohit Sharma have also been explosive with the bat and have scored several centuries.

That said, here is a list of players who have scored centuries in T20 World Cup:






CH Gayle (WI)


West Indies

v South Africa

11 Sep 2007

SK Raina (IND)



v South Africa

02 May 2010

DPMD Jayawardene (SL)


Sri Lanka

v Zimbabwe

03 May 2010

BB McCullum (NZ)


New Zealand

v Bangladesh

21 Sep 2012

AD Hales (ENG)



v Sri Lanka

27 Mar 2014

Ahmed Shehzad (PAK)



v Bangladesh

30 Mar 2014

Tamim Iqbal (BAN)



v Oman

13 Mar 2016

CH Gayle (WI)


West Indies

v England

16 Mar 2016

JC Buttler (ENG)



v Sri Lanka

01 Nov 2021

RR Rossouw (SA)


South Africa

v Bangladesh

27 Oct 2022

GD Phillips (NZ)


New Zealand

v Sri Lanka

29 Oct 2022

Top 5 Most Centuries in ICC Cricket World Cup

While Rohit Sharma holds the record for the most centuries in ICC cricket World Cup, this is not only for T20 World Cup tournaments. That said, let’s look at the top 5 players with the most centuries in the ICC Cricket World Cup:

  1. Rohit Sharma (India) – 7 centuries
  2. David Warner (Australia) – 6 centuries
  3. Sachin Tendulkar (India) – 6 centuries
  4. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) – 5 centuries
  5. Virat Kohli (India) – 5 centuries

Most Centuries by Players in ICC ODI World Cup

Rohit Sharma holds the record for the most centuries by players in ICC ODI World Cup. In the T20 World Cup, Chris Gayle has smashed two centuries. However, with the 2024 T20 World Cup coming up, cricket fans can expect stars like Virat Kohli to break that record, considering his current form.


India’s Rohit Sharma has scored 7 centuries, which is the most by an international cricketer. Meanwhile, David Warner and Sachin Tendulkar both have 6 centuries. Kumar Sangakkara and Ricky Ponting have 5 centuries each.

Considering many legends have retired from the sport, it may take some time for others to break these records. However, with each team getting to play several matches in the 2024 T2 World Cup, these records could change.

Until then, we have to wait and watch to see which players have the potential to break these records.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *