Third India-Ireland T20I abandoned due to rain, Men in Blue win series 2-0

The third T20I between India and Ireland was abandoned due to persistent rain at Malahide. However, India ended up clinching the three-match series 2-0.

Read More: Pakistan cruise to easy win after dismissing Afghanistan for 59 in first ODI

Unfavourable weather conditions prevented a ball from being bowled at the venue. The toss was also not conducted, and the covers remained firmly positioned over the square area. In the end, it was clear that the match wouldn’t go ahead as scheduled.

To turn it into a five-overs-a-side affair, the match needed to commence before 7 pm local time. Initial inspection by the umpires indicated another assessment was needed at 5:45 pm local time.

Despite a break in rain and efforts to remove the covers, the players took to the field with a glimmer of hope. However, due to significant damp patches on the outfield, it was evident that the match could not proceed. Jasprit Bumrah and Paul Stirling acknowledged the inevitable outcome as they exchanged handshakes.

Read More: Led by Bumrah’s return, India secure two-run win over Ireland in first T20I through DLS

In the series, India secured win in the first T20I via DLS method by a margin of two runs. Bumrah made a successful return to international cricket with figures of 2-24 after being sidelined for approximately 11 months due to a back injury. His exceptional performance earned him the Player of the Match award in the first game.

The second match saw Ruturaj Gaikwad’s solid fifty anchoring India’s innings. Impactful contributions from Sanju Samson and Rinku Singh propelled India to a competitive total of 185-5. This foundation enabled them to triumph over Ireland, who managed only 152-8, resulting in a 33-run victory.

Read More: India lose T20I series 3-2 to West Indies

India’s forthcoming international commitment is the 2023 Asia Cup. They are scheduled to face arch-rivals Pakistan on September 2, followed by a match against Nepal on September 4. Both of India’s Group A fixtures will be hosted at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium.

The leading two teams from Groups A and B will advance to the Super Fours stage, where they will participate in three additional matches at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. This venue will also be the setting for the final showdown on September 17.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *