Team India to feature three different captains in South Africa

Team India will have three different leaders for three separate teams during their upcoming trip to South Africa. Rohit Sharma will captain the Test matches, KL Rahul will lead in the One-Day Internationals (ODIs), and Suryakumar Yadav will be the skipper for the Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).

Read More: Uganda qualify for T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have requested a break from the white-ball matches scheduled in December-January. They will join the action for the two Tests, set for December 26-30 at Centurion and January 3-7, 2024, at Cape Town. Suryakumar Yadav will lead the Team India T20I team in three matches from December 10 to 14.

Only Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are selected for the five-day matches. Pacer Mohammed Shami, currently undergoing treatment, has been chosen, with the condition that he recovers in time. Shami hasn’t been chosen for the ODI squad, despite being the top wicket-taker in the recent World Cup.

Read More: Kane Williamson equals Virat Kohli’s Test centuries record

The Test squad includes Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan, and Ruturaj Gaikwad as openers alongside Rohit Sharma and Shubham Gill. Pacers Mukesh Kumar and Prasidh Krishna are in the bowling unit, along with spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

Samson included in ODI squad

Surprisingly, Sanju Samson is included in the ODI squad. Yuzvendra Chahal returns to the 50-over format after being left out of the World Cup squad. Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, and Arshdeep Singh are part of both the ODI and T20I squads.

Read More: Namibia secure berth in ICC T20 World Cup 2024

India A will play two four-day matches against South Africa A and one inter-squad three-day match during the tour. K.S Bharat will lead the India A team in the 1st four-day match, including Abhimanyu Easwaran, provided he is fit.

The tour begins with T20Is on December 10, December 12, and December 14. The ODIs will be on December 17, December 19, and December 21.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *