Serie A champs Napoli to begin title defence against newly-promoted Frosinone

Reigning Serie A champions Napoli will begin their title defence against newly-promoted Frosinone. This will be Rudi Garcia’s inaugural match as Napoli coach, succeeding Luciano Spalletti who was with the team in the previous season.

Read More: Mexico secure place in CONCACAF Gold Cup knockout stage

The schedule for the upcoming Serie A season was announced on Wednesday. Runners-up Lazio will visit Lecce on the opening weekend, while Inter Milan will host Monza. AC Milan will travel to Bologna. Juventus will also play against Udinese.

The season will commence on August 19 and conclude on May 26. There will be no break over the Christmas period, with matches scheduled for December 23 and 30. Furthermore, there will be only one midweek round on September 27, along with four international breaks.

Read More: US dominate St Kitts and Nevis 6-0 in CONCACAF Gold Cup

The first matches between the top teams will occur in the third round, with Napoli hosting Lazio and AC Milan visiting Roma. During that weekend, Inter will host their fierce rivals Fiorentina.

The first Milan derby is scheduled for the following weekend, on September 17, while Lazio faces consecutive challenging matches against Juventus. The initial Rome derby between Roma and Lazio will take place on the weekend of November 12.

Read More: Canada held by Guadeloupe, Guatemala defeat Cuba 1-0 in CONCACAF Gold Cup

In the final round, Napoli will host Lecce, Lazio will face Sassuolo at home, Inter will travel to Hellas Verona, Milan will play against Salernitana, and Juventus will meet Monza.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *