Jaiswal, Chahal guide Rajasthan Royals to 9-wicket win over KKR

Rajasthan Royals secured a comprehensive 9-wicket victory over Kolkata Knight Riders in their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 match at Eden Gardens on Thursday, thanks to Yashasvi Jaiswal’s record-breaking fastest half-century in IPL history and Yuzvendra Chahal’s four-wicket haul.

Jaiswal’s exhibition in power-hitting left spectators in awe as he achieved the remarkable feat in just 13 balls, eventually finishing unbeaten with 98 runs off 47 balls. Sanju Samson also contributed a stroke-filled knock of 48 off 29. RR achieved the target with nearly seven overs to spare.

Read More: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals began their chase of 150 in style, with Jaiswal hammering 26 runs off the first over. Although Andre Russell’s direct throw removed Jos Buttler for a duck, Jaiswal continued to dominate with the bat, achieving the fastest fifty in IPL history. The Royals then cruised towards the target, reaching 78/1 in just six overs.

In the tenth over, Rajasthan Royals crossed the 100-run mark, thanks to Yashasvi’s aggressive batting display. Skipper Sanju Samson joined in, hitting several boundaries. The two put up a partnership of 100 for the second wicket in just 56 balls. With over six overs to spare, Rajasthan successfully chased down the target, with Jaiswal remaining unbeaten on 98*.

Read More: Chennai Super Kings continue form, beat Delhi Capitals by 27 runs

Royals restrict KKR to 149/8

Earlier, Yuzvendra Chahal impressed with the ball, taking four wickets while conceding only 25 runs in his four overs. Trent Boult also picked up two wickets. Despite early setbacks, Venkatesh Iyer played a resilient innings of 57 runs, while Nitish Rana scored 22 runs for the Knight Riders.

The Royals won the toss and opted to field first. It was a good as Trent Boult dismissed Jason Roy for just 10 runs. Venkatesh Iyer then came to the crease to join Rahmanullah Gurbaz. However, Boult provided another breakthrough by dismissing Gurbaz in the fifth over.

Read More: Mumbai Indians leapfrog to third in IPL

KKR skipper Nitish Rana came in after Jason Roy’s wicket, and with Venkatesh Iyer formed a partnership. Yuzvendra Chahal then dismissed Rana for 22 in the 11th over. Andre Russell scored only 10 before being dismissed by Asif in the 14th over.

Rinku Singh then joined Iyer at the crease, who completed his half-century off 39 balls. Chahal took two wickets in the 17th over, dismissing Iyer for 57 and Shardul Thakur for 1. He then dismissed Rinku Singh for 16 runs, whiloe Sandeep Sharma removed Sunil Narine for six runs in the final over. KKR scored 149/8 in 20 overs.

Read More: Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals

Jaiswal smashes fastest half century in IPL history

Rajasthan Royals’ Yashasvi Jaiswal scripted history during the match against Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens on Thursday. He became the first player to hit the fastest half-century in the IPL. Jaiswal achieved the remarkable feat in only 13 balls.

Previously, the fastest half-century in IPL history was held jointly by KL Rahul and Pat Cummins, off 14 balls. Yusuf Pathan was third scoring a 50 in 15 balls.

Read More: Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chahal becomes leading wicket-taker in IPL

Rajasthan Royals leeg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal also achieved a significant milestone to become the highest wicket-taker in Indian Premier League history. The record was previously held by former Chennai Super Kings all rounder Dwayne Bravo.

Chahal achieved his feat after dismissing KKR captain Nitish Rana, who attempted a sweep shot but was caught by Shimron Hetmyer. Chahal now has 184 wickets, overtaking Bravo’s previous record of 183.

Read More: Knight Riders win off last ball against Punjab Kings

Other players with the most wickets in IPL history include Piyush Chawla with 174, Amit Mishra with 172, and Ravichandran Ashwin with 171. Before the match against KKR, Chahal had already taken 17 wickets in 11 games this season.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *