Dhoni’s CSK dismantle Gujarat Titans to reach IPL 2023 final

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Gujarat Titans (GT) by 15 runs in their Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL 2023) playoff match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, on Tuesday. CSK’s bowlers performed exceptionally well, led by Ravindra Jadeja who took two wickets for 18 runs. Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, and Deepak Chahar also contributed with two wickets each.

Read More: Gill’s unstoppable form continues, guides Titans to 6-wicket win over RCB

Chasing a target of 173 in their IPL 2023 playoff, GT started their innings slowly and lost their first wicket early on after Deepak Chahar dismissed Wriddhiman Saha in the third over. The Titans’ skipper Hardik Pandya was then dismissed by Maheesh Theekshana in the sixth over. Despite reaching the 50-run mark in 7.3 overs, Gujarat’s batsmen struggled to keep up with the required run rate and lost wickets at regular intervals.

In-form batter Shubman Gill scored a valiant 42 off 38 balls. But he was dismissed by Deepak Chahar in the 13th over. Gujarat Titans’ last full time batter, Vijay Shankar, was dismissed by Matheesha Pathirana a few overs later.

Read More: Cameron Green’s maiden IPL ton guides Mumbai to victory

All-rounder Rashid Khan played a defiant knock of 30 off only 16 balls. However, the Titans’ batting collapsed before Mohammed Shami was dismissed by Pathirana off the last ball.

Earlier, CSK’s Ruturaj Gaikwad was out early, but it was ruled a no-ball. Gaikwad and Devon Conway then formed a strong opening partnership, taking CSK past the 50-run mark in just 6.1 overs. Gaikwad reached his half-century in 36 balls, but was eventually dismissed by Mohit Sharma for 60.

Chennai Super Kings continued to lose wickets, with Conway also getting out for 40. Ambati Rayudu and Ravindra Jadeja stabilised the innings, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni joined Jadeja in the middle. CSK ended their innings at 172/7, with Jadeja getting dismissed off the last ball. Moeen Ali remained unbeaten on 9 from 4 balls, helping CSK reach a defendable total in their IPL 2023 playoff.

Read More: Rajasthan Royals knock Punjab Kings out of IPL 2023 playoffs race

Chennai Super Kings continue dominance in IPL

Chennai Super Kings, under MS Dhoni’s leadership, has proven to be one of the most dominant sides in the Indian Premier League, reaching a record 10th final. They have won the title four times. Mumbai Indians, with six qualifications to the IPL final, are a distant second. In what could possibly be Dhoni’s last IPL, there is no other befitting way of bidding adieu to one of the most prominent players the league has ever seen.

Read More: Kohli’s century outshines Klaasen’s ton

Last season, CSK finished 9th in the points table. This IPL 2023, however, they staged a remarkable comeback. The Super Kings finished second in the league stage with 17 points from 14 matches.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *