India lose T20I series 3-2 to West Indies

Romario Shepherd was brilliant with the ball, while Brandon King and Nicholas Pooran shone with the bat as the West Indies secured a convincing 8-wicket victory over India in the fifth and final T20 match at Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground. With this, the West Indies finished the five-match T20 series 3-2, marking their first T20I series win over India since 2017.

Read More: India-Pakistan 2023 ICC World Cup match rescheduled for October 14 in Ahmedabad

Despite India making a strong comeback after losing the first two matches and levelling the series, they were unable to maintain momentum in the deciding match. This was also India’s first series defeat in 13 T20Is since July 2021.

India, choosing to bat first, managed to score 165/9 in 20 overs, with Suryakumar Yadav’s resilient 61 off 45 and Axar Patel’s brief contribution of 13 off 10. In response, West Indies’ opener Brandon King (85 not out) and Nicholas Pooran (47) led the charge, guiding their team to victory and securing the series.

Read More: SKY’s blistering 83 guides India to win in third T20I to keep hopes alive

Chasing 166 for a win, the West Indies got off to a solid start, with Kyle Mayers hitting a boundary and a six in the first over. However, Arshdeep Singh dismissed Mayers for 10 in the next over. Subsequently, Nicholas Pooran and Brandon King showcased an aggressive batting display, dominating the Indian bowlers.

Despite a brief interruption due to bad weather, King and Pooran continued to build their partnership. King reached his half-century, and their strong partnership was eventually broken by Tilak Varma. King’s impressive knock guided West Indies closer to victory, and Shai Hope’s maximum sealed the deal with 12 balls to spare.

Read More: Australia omit Labuschagne from World Cup squad; Sangha, Hardie included

For India, Akeal Hosein struck early, removing both openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill, leaving India at 17/2 within three overs. However, Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Varma contributed to a fightback, pushing the Power-play score to 51/2. Despite regular wickets falling, Suryakumar Yadav’s elegant batting anchored India’s innings.

After a brief rain delay, the Men in Blue lost wickets quickly, with Shepherd’s tight bowling slowing them down. India managed to post 165/9 in 20 overs, with Axar Patel hitting a few runs in the final over.

Read More: Pooran guides Windies to two-wicket victory over India; lead T20I series 2-0

In the end, the hosts came out on top, winning the T20 series and ending India’s rather impressive streak.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *