India look to whitewash series in historic 100th Test against the West Indies

India and West Indies face off in a historic 100th Test match in Port of Spain on Thursday. The rivalry between these two cricketing giants spans two eras: one where the West Indies dominated and India was considered the underdog, and the other where India rose to become a cricketing superpower while the West Indies lost their former glory.

Read More: Pakistan poised to win first Test against Sri Lanka

In the 99 Tests played so far, India has 23 wins while the West Indies has won 30. India’s win percentage is currently 23.23 per cent. Meanwhile, 46 matches have ended in draws. Historically, India has not performed well at home against the West Indies, with only 13 wins out of 47 Tests. The West Indies have won 16 times. In the Caribbean, the West Indies have largely dominated, winning 16 out of 52 Tests played, while India has only won 10 times.

However, in the 21st century, the tide has turned in favour of Team India, with 16 wins out of 29 matches played against the Windies. In home Tests, India has an impressive win percentage of 80, having won eight out of 10 matches. Moreover, India has improved its record in the Caribbean as well, securing eight wins out of 19 matches played.

Read More: England rely on Woakes, Broad to take control on day 1 of fourth Ashes Test against Australia

Sunil Gavaskar is the highest run-scorer for India against the West Indies, with 2,749 runs in 27 Tests, followed by Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman. Among the current players, Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer with 898 runs in 15 Tests. For the West Indies, Clive Llyod is the highest run-scorer with 2,344 runs in 28 Tests, followed by Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Viv Richards. Currently, skipper Kraigg Braithwaite leads the batting charts for the West Indies against India.

When it comes to bowling, Kapil Dev is the highest wicket-taker for India against the West Indies, claiming 89 scalps in 25 Tests. Anil Kumble and Ravichandran Ashwin follow with 74 and 72 wickets, respectively. For the West Indies, Malcolm Marshall leads the way with 76 wickets in 17 matches, followed by Andy Roberts and WW Hall.

Read More: India and Pakistan to face off in Asia Cup 2023


Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan (w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Srikar Bharat, Axar Patel, Navdeep Saini, Mukesh Kumar

West Indies

Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Jermaine Blackwood, Alick Athanaze, Joshua Da Silva (w), Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican, Shannon Gabriel, Kirk McKenzie, Kevin Sinclair

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *