India clinch first T20I match against Australia

Skipper Suryakumar Yadav played a fantastic innings, smashing 80 runs in 42 balls, while Ishan Kishan scored 58 runs off 39 balls to help India win by two wickets against Australia in the first T20I match of the five-match series.

Suryakumar, in his debut as India’s captain, once again displayed his skill in hitting the ball in all directions. India chose to field first after winning the toss. However, Australia were led by Josh Inglis’ century off just 47 balls. He also built a partnership of 130 runs with Steve Smith to set the hosts a challenging target of 208/3.

Read More: Delhi Capitals could release Sarfaraz, Pandey before IPL 2024 auction

Despite Inglis and Smith building a strong partnership, it seemed like Australia might dominate India. The Men in Blue had very recently lost the ODI World Cup final to the team from down under. However, India, despite some tense moments, successfully chased down the target. They scored 209/8 off the final ball to take a 1-0 lead in the series.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan led India’s batting charge after the early dismissals of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal, setting India on the path to victory. The last thrilling over saw Rinku Singh’s crucial boundary, a no-ball, and a six that sealed a dramatic win for India. Suryakumar scored 80 runs with nine fours and four sixes, while Ishan Kishan contributed 58 runs. The two showcases their experience playing together for Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League.

Read More: Rajasthan Royals sign Avesh Khan for IPL 2024

Earlier, despite Josh Inglis’s record-breaking century and Steve Smith’s contributions, Indian bowlers managed to limit Australia’s scoring in the final overs. Ravi Bishnoi and Prasidh Krishna took important wickets, while Mukesh Kumar and Axar Patel slowed down Australia’s run rate. The next T20I match between India and Australia in this series is scheduled for November 26th in Thiruvananthapuram.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *