England name squad for ODI series against New Zealand, Ireland

Promising young batsman Harry Brook has been included in England’s roster for the upcoming ODI series against New Zealand, which kicks off in Cardiff this Friday. He has been added as cover for the batting lineup. Furthermore, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has designated Brook as a member of a 13-player secondary squad, led by Test opener Zak Crawley, for the upcoming ODI series against Ireland, scheduled for later this month.

Read More: Sri Lanka women’s cricket team win first-ever series against England

Brook’s addition to the squad comes as England look to include the batsman in the ODI World Cup squad. He was initially left out of the World Cup squad due to Ben Stokes coming out of retirement to participate. Now, Brook’s late inclusion in the 15-member squad for the India campaign is being considered.

After the end of the T20I series against New Zealand, head coach Matthew Mott emphasised that the squad was considered “provisional,” hinting at the possibility of Brook joining the 15-member squad for the tour to India.

Read More: Pakistan pacers demolish Bangladesh to ensure seven-wicket win in Asia Cup Super Four

England’s 13-player squad for the Ireland series, in which Ben Duckett serves as vice-captain alongside Zak Crawley, features three uncapped players: Sam Hain, Jamie Smith, and George Scrimshaw. Additionally, Brydon Carse and Rehan Ahmed are included in the squad for the series against Ireland, as well as Will Jacks, Phil Salt, Luke Wood, Craig Overton, and Matthew Potts.

The three-game series between England and Ireland is scheduled to commence at Headingley on September 20, followed by matches at Trent Bridge and Bristol on September 23 and 26, respectively.

Read More: India to meet Pakistan again in Asia Cup Super Four stage

The ECB noted that the men’s selection panel took input from the first-class counties into consideration when finalising the squad, considering their aspirations for the remainder of the ongoing County Championship season.

England’s 13-player squad for Ireland series

Zak Crawley (captain), Rehan Ahmed, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Ben Duckett (vice-captain), Sam Hain, Will Jacks, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Phil Salt, George Scrimshaw, Jamie Smith and Luke Wood

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *